Transistor to control 12V through PWM (Just checking)

Quick summary first. I want to generate a pulse, but it needs to be 12v.

So - the arduino controls a single pin on a transistor, that is hooked up to 12v, and I can create the pulse that way.

Just checking before I dig further - this is correct?

Context :

I am building a piece of art (though I'm a technical guy), and part of it is a Harley Davidson electronic speedo. I will have a light sensor to turn the internal lighting on and off, and a motion detector to sense if someone is near - and if so make the speedo accelerate (I will generate a pattern in time - not just up and down, but something interesting).

So, the key here is providing the pulse to the speedo, which has to be 12v. Hence my question - I believe I am 'barking up the right tree' to create this pulse, but can someone please just sanity check me?

ps, this is my first project at this level. Been an IT guy for years (ok, decades), but this is my first foray into bare bones electronics,.....

You need to connect the drive circuit to a resistor connected to the transistors base (NPN) Emitter to ground (common) Collector to a suitable collector resistor (example 1K) the other end of the resistor to +12V Collector is the O/P.

Examples HERE

Just remember: The base current of the transistor times the gain of the transistor will roughly equal the collector current; so care must be exercised to use the right resistor value(s) to ensure that you do not exceed the per-pin current of the microcontroller.

http://hyperphysics.phy-astr.gsu.edu/hbase/electronic/transwitch.html#c1

I strongly recommend that you become familiar with the online SPICE tool: http://www.falstad.com/circuit/e-index.html