Triacs,Arduino,High voltage and a novice user

Hello Arduino community!I will like to start by saying I am just a self taught hobbyist in electronics and my knowledge may be somehow limited.I'm starting to learn how to use transistors,mosfets,triacs and similar components.I've played around on my breadboard with linear transitors and other L type mosfets to control small 12 V loads (a PC fan,a small small motor etc) both On/Off or PWM type of aplications and I had this idea :
Is it possible to use a network of transistors(and a bridge rectifier) to lower the voltage from 240 V AC to something like 25 V DC?!
I'm not good at explaining what i want to do but i will do my best.
The final goal is to start with a standard UK plug (240 V AC @50 Hz) and end up with around 25 V DC.
My plan is to use a "Big enough" bridge rectifier (the 4 diodes arrangement) to convert the AC to DC and then use a cascade (or network,I don't exactly know the correct terminology) of mosfets to gradually decrease the Volts to around 25 V.These 25 V will go in a resistor network to get a 24 V line,a 12 V line and a 6 V line.the 24 V line will probably never be used,the 12 V line will power up a small water pump once a day for just 10 minutes max and it's rated at 12 V and 19 W => about 1,6 Amps and the 6 volt line will power just the arduino board with 1 RTC,1 photoresistor and 2 temperature sensors so i assume the Amps on the 6 volt line will be low.So i need the initial 25 V line to be able to sustain about 2 Amps.
Is this type of circuit even possible?Or my transistor network will just get very hot and it will be close to impossible to stabilize?!I'm chasing ghosts here!?:slight_smile:
Have a nice day and sorry for any "Noob mistakes".

Many years ago someone invented TRANSFORMERS to reduce the AC voltage to what you want to use.

Paul