Tried everything: avrdude: stk500_getsync(), can't upload, Tx and Rx don't blink

Hello,

I am relatively new to electronics and the Arduino. I bought my first Arduino Uno in mid-May of this year. I have had a lot of fun and learned a lot since that time. However, there are still a lot of things I don't understand about electricity and the Arduino.

During my free time in the last few weeks I have been working on a project that involves 14 rows of LEDs. Each row has 4 LEDs in series. The rows are controlled via 2 shift registers (TPIC6B595). I am using Windows 7.

My first Arduino worked without problem from May until last Saturday. Occasionally I had upload problems, but these were easily fixed by unplugging and re-plugging in the USB cord.

Last Saturday I finished installing most of the electronic hardware for my project. I already had all of the software ready to go, so, after a few false starts, I plugged everything in and it looked great! Everything worked as it was supposed to. I spent maybe 30 minutes playing with the program, uploading something every few minutes. At some point, however, I hit upload and I received an error saying something like "Unable to find COM5, check to see if another device is using the port." I had seen this before from time to time and wasn't too concerned; so I unplugged and re-plugged the USB cord back in.

After a few tries, however, something different happened. When I hit the "upload" button, Arduino complies the sketch, then begins to upload. The upload process takes a long time, about 12 seconds. During this time, the Rx light flashes on the Arduino 3 times. The Tx light never flashes. Eventually, it says "Done Uploading" along with the following error message:

avrdude: stk500_getsync(): not in sync: resp=0x00

Basically, I cannot upload anything. However, the Arduino still receives 5V from the computer.