Trigger a mechanical switch on a daily schedule

Hey everyone,

First post here! (And this will also be my first project with an Arduino)

I'm hoping someone can help me with figuring out the hardware necessary for a little project: I want to trigger a mechanical switch latch* twice a day at two specific times. I have an UNO R3.

I'm going to have a little box that holds my dogs food bowl. The box will be closed and latched (somehow) and will feature a couple piston arms that will push it open when the switch latch* is released.

So to keep it simple I just need to have the UNO attempt to trigger the switch latch* twice a day. I'm not concerned with the programming (I'm a programmer by profession). I can definitely learn and figure that out on my own. The issue is I'm no hardware expert! So I'm looking for some recommendations on a switch latch* that might work for this, and can interface well enough with the UNO.

Also any other hardware you think I might need or any thoughts and tips are greatly appreciated!

Thank you for your time!

by mechanical switch, do you mean a physical switch that turns on and off an electrical contact?

That is how i am interpreting it.

I am also assuming that you want a physical switch to press for manual control. I would suggest using a relay with the contacts in parallel with the mechanical switch. This will act as a logical OR, so either you can control the device OR the microcontroller can.

do you mean a physical switch that turns on and off an electrical contact?

I actually meant to say "latch" not switch.... Like I said: very much not a hardware expert! :stuck_out_tongue:

But that is actually a great point you bring up, that I would need a way to trigger the latch manually...

I would suggest using a relay with the contacts in parallel with the mechanical switch. This will act as a logical OR, so either you can control the device OR the microcontroller can.