Trigger iPhone 4s flash with magnetic sensor

I am building a prototype for an idea involving a zoetrope type mechanism ( http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3-rPn0a56WE ), but I have practically no electronics/programming experience. I only need one small electronics component for the whole thing to work; a magnetic sensor run through the arduino to the iphone to trigger its LED flash. The rotating zoetrope disk will have small magnets along the edge to trigger the sensor, which causes the LED to flash in sync with the rotation speed. I also to be able to use other iphone apps simultaneously as the LED is flashing, such as the video camera.

Again, i have zero electronics experience, but i feel this is a fairly simple task.

Any advice appreciated! Thanks, Slam

How are you interfacing to the iPhone, and why? Why not provide your own flash? Using a several hundred dollar phone for the sake of a two dollar LED seems crazy (to me)

Perhaps that video was a bad example, what i am doing is 2d not 3d. I already own the iphone. I will have it streaming live video of the animations to my laptop, so i was hoping i could just capitalize on the built in LED. The phone will also be mounted on a track so it can move around, and it would be useful in my case if the LED could move with it. I could very well use a independent flash, however since it is moving around using the built in LED would keep things streamline.

When this thing is in action, i will not be controlling anything from the iphone. I need it to just stream video to my computer while simultaneously acting a synchronized strobe light.

so i was hoping i could just capitalize on the built in LED.

It will cost you more in leads and software license to use your iPhone for this. Epically given that you don't know what you are doing.

I could very well use a independent flash,

By far the best option.

Another important note,