Triggering Arduino with Camera sync cord or other approaches

Hello everyone,

My name is Alessandro and this is my first post on the forum.
I apology in advance in case there was a presentation thread opened but, browsing with my phone I couldn’t find it.

I am an Arduino novice so please excuse me in case I might say something silly or obvious but I have done my best to experiment and research online before writing here.

I am approaching a new project where I would need to trigger a stepper motor with Arduino when I click on my camera (more specifically a Canon 5Ds).
All I could find online has been various versions of “how to trigger a camera with Arduino” but never the other way aroud.

I was wondering if it would be possible to trigger Arduino with a Sync Cord (the old fashioned way of triggering flashes) or if any of you might have a more intelligent and easier solution.

Many thanks for your help,

My very best,

Alessandro

IF your sync cord, what ever that is, is a switch like a push button switch, then yes, that would work with an Arduino. All depends on your program in the arduino.

Paul

Yes, a flash sync connection is just like a simple switch that closes to trigger the flash. I am not sure if it is electrically isolated from the camera or not, but either way it is possible to connect to an input on the arduino.

Then best to measure it so you know for sure. Is the sync cord a shielded wire with a single central wire? Does the cord have a voltage on it that is grounded to operate? Or does it supply a voltage when in operation? Is it a steady voltage or is it a pulse?

Paul

Maybe an easier solution is to let the Arduino control the servo AND trigger the camera? You just need to add a button to the Arduino.

Hello,

thank you for all your replies!

The sync cord I am taliking about is "a cable with a standardised coaxial PC (for Prontor/Compur) 3.5 mm (1/8") connector[1] (as defined in ISO 519[2])" (from: Flash synchronization - Wikipedia).