trouble interfacing TPA81 thermopile array

I’m trying to interface Devantech’s TPA81 8 pixel thermopile sensor to the Arduino, and I’m having no luck. This is my first attempt to use I2C, so it’s possible I’m making a mistake, but I’ve replicated Tom Igoe’s code for interfacing their CMPS03 compass, with no luck.

The code runs, but my output is “0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9”, the register number I’m trying to read (and the byte I just send the I2C device).

Here’s the

// prototype code for interfacing Devantech TPA81 thermopile array
// http://www.robot-electronics.co.uk/htm/tpa81tech.htm

#include <Wire.h>
#define TPA81ADDR 0xd0

void setup() 
{ 
  Wire.begin();
  Serial.begin(9600);
} 

void loop() 
{
  byte b;
  int i;

for (i=0; i<=9; i++)
  {
    Wire.beginTransmission(TPA81ADDR);
    Wire.send(i);
    Wire.endTransmission();

Wire.requestFrom(TPA81ADDR, (int) 1);

while(Wire.available() < 1)
   { ; }

b = Wire.receive();

Serial.print(b, DEC);
    Serial.print(" ");
  }
  Serial.println("");

delay(2000); 
}

This may or may not be related, but when I switch between the mega8 and 168, I get these errors:

In file included from /Applications/arduino-0008/lib/targets/arduino/WProgram.h:5,
                 from Stepper.cpp:48:
/Applications/arduino-0008/tools/avr/bin/../lib/gcc/avr/4.0.2/../../../../avr/include/avr/signal.h:36:2: warning: #warning "This header file is obsolete.  Use <avr/interrupt.h>."
In file included from /Applications/arduino-0008/lib/targets/arduino/WProgram.h:7,
/Applications/arduino-0008/lib/targets/arduino/wiring.h:60:1: warning: "abs" redefined
In file included from /Applications/arduino-0008/lib/targets/arduino/WProgram.h:1,
/Applications/arduino-0008/tools/avr/bin/../lib/gcc/avr/4.0.2/../../../../avr/include/stdlib.h:116:1: warning: this is the location of the previous definition
In file included from utility/twi.c:25: