Trouble reading 0.2v 20mS pulse from a ch-926 coin reader

Hi all, A first post for me, so I hope that I get the etiquette correct.
I am a high school teacher and one of my student is using a ch-926 coin reader.
He has programmed the reader and is using an interrupt to pick up the rising pulse as suggested in numerous posts from the net.
A serial line is then posted to the serial monitor after a pulse is detected. However, no pulse is detected.
I have tested the below code by giving an artificial pulse of 5 volt or 3.3 volt straight onto the interrupt pin with success. (the pulse is read and the serial is displayed). So I believe that the setup of the Arduino and reader is correct.

I checked the size of the pulse from the CH -926 that is present on the interrupt pin on a CRO as 0 to 0.2 volt for 20 mS. This seems very small to me However, the supplier tells my student via email that a 0.2 volt pulse is expected.

The code is below and any help would be much appreciated.

const int coinInt = 0;
//Attach coinInt to Interrupt Pin 0 (Digital Pin 2). Pin 3 = Interrpt Pin 1.

volatile float coinsValue = 0.00;
//Set the coinsValue to a Volatile float
//Volatile as this variable changes any time the Interrupt is triggered
int coinsChange = 0;
//A Coin has been inserted flag

void setup()
{
Serial.begin(9600);
//Start Serial Communication
attachInterrupt(coinInt, coinInserted, RISING);
//If coinInt goes HIGH (a Pulse), call the coinInserted function
//An attachInterrupt will always trigger, even if your using delays
}

void coinInserted()
//The function that is called every time it recieves a pulse
{
coinsValue = coinsValue + 0.05;
//As we set the Pulse to represent 5p or 5c we add this to the coinsValue
coinsChange = 1;
//Flag that there has been a coin inserted
}

void loop()
{
if(coinsChange == 1)
//Check if a coin has been Inserted
{
coinsChange = 0;
//unflag that a coin has been inserted

Serial.print("Credit: £");
Serial.println(coinsValue);