Trouble using interrupts, TM1637, and photo interrupter

Hello, sorry if this is in the wrong part of the forum.

I’m a beginner in coding and using arduinos and have done tutorials and short projects through school, but have come at a snag trying to complete a project at work.

I’m using the Mega2560 board, a TM1637 4-digit LED display, and a TCST 2103 optocouple/photo interrupter.
They have been tested and been confirmed to have been working.

The project is to count the total revolutions of a 16-tooth gear. I intend for the photo interrupter to send pulses to the board and utilize the interrupt to go to a counting part of my code, and then display the total amount of “turns” (ever 16 pulse, corresponding to the 16 teeth) the gear has complete.

What I’m trying to do in my calculations part is have the number of “pulses” update each time the interrupt is called on, until it reaches 16 which will then increment “turns” by 1. After 1 “turn” has been completed, I wanted the number of pulses to restart at 0 while keeping the amount of turns.

I’ve tried to read as much as I could, but have come to a standstill. It as been deduced that the problem with my code is in the attachInterrupt area, but have a hard time trying to think of a solution.

Any help is appreciated, and thank you in advance.

#include <TM1637Display.h>
#define CLK 4
#define DIO 3
#define pulsesensor 20
TM1637Display display = TM1637Display(4, 3);

int turns = 0;
int pulse = 0;

void setup() {
  pinMode(20, INPUT);
  pinMode(3, OUTPUT);
  attachInterrupt(20, calculatepulse, HIGH);
}

void loop() {
  display.setBrightness(5);
  display.showNumberDec(turns);

}

void calculatepulse() {
  if (pulse < 16)
    pulse = pulse + 1;
  if (pulse == 16)
    turns = turns + 1;
  if (pulse > 16)
    pulse = 0;

}

You define your pin numbers, but then do not use your defined constants in your code - please do so - it makes your code easier to change.