Trouble using motor shield L298N

Hi guys, I'm kinda new to this. So, I'm working on a project of a bluetooth controlled car. I'm using four 5v DC motors and two motor shields L298N to control it using a 11v lipo battery to supply them (using arduino mega to manage it all). My problem is, every tutorial I find about how to use theese shields they work either on arduino supplying the electricity for 2 motors only or a 12v supply for 12v DC motors.
When I try to supply the shields using its +5V it works for just some motors (I checked the arduino's programming). When I try to use its +12v pin it doesn't even light. What am I doing wrong? What is the correct way to connect theese things?

The correct way is to show us your circuit and your code.

Take note that all motors are 5V and all IN ports are connected from port 2 of arduino to 9.

prog.png

eojones_:
My problem is, every tutorial I find about how to use these shields they work either on arduino supplying the electricity for 2 motors only or a 12v supply for 12v DC motors.

Check out this link....just in case.......click here.....

The 'personality' changing feature of the L298 (depending on jumper setting) can certainly be confusing. It's not because us users do not know how it should work. It's all about the people (makers) that wrote the instructions (or lack of clear instructions) about how it works. For example, the very first line of any L298 instruction should be made to say something like 'beware - the 5V pin can change personality, ie. output can become an input, and vice versa - depending on the jumper setting'.

Also, to ensure that the arduino is outputting the correct signals (voltages)....... use a multimeter or something to do some measurements. Then you can work towards finding out where the problem(s) lie.

When I check the voltage that's what I get:

Trying to use +5V as input pin:

• +5v & GND : 11,2V
  • Only one motor works, and it gets 1,4V out of 5v its supposed to work with