Trouble with 2x12 LCD

Hello,

I've been fighting with this:

for a few hours tonight. I have it wired up so that the top line of the LCD shows up with all the pixels lit, and I have the potentiometer setup to control the contrast. My big problem is getting the display to do anything.

I've been following the LCD tutorial and think I have all the pins hooked up correctly but clearly I'm doing something wrong...

From what I can tell from the datasheet there are three pins that need to be hooked up to display labelled: 'RS' 'R/W' and 'E' - and then the 8 data pins.

I want to hook up the display in 4bit mode because I'm just learning and the soldering pitch on this display is a challenge for me. So I hooked up the DB4 -7 pins to the arduino. The control wires are where I'm really confused. The tutorial I'm looking at has good overlap for the 'RS' pin, but it doesn't tell me what to do with the 'RW' or 'E' pin... Any help on clearing up the functions of these pins is much appreciated... That is, which of these should be hooked to a digital pin? Should both?

Also, is the difference between 4bit and 8bit the difference between 1 and 2 lines in the display?

Thanks in advance!

I think R/W should be connected to ground an E to +5V.

The difference between 4 and 8 bit mode has nothing to do with how much you can display, it just defines how many bits you send to the display at a time. So 4 bit mode sends 4 bits 2 times to send a byte to the display, 8 bit mode sends a full byte in one go. The reason to use 4 bit mode is that you save Arduino pins. Theoretically 4 bit mode i slower but for almost all practical uses it doesent matter.

Do you use the LCD library in Arduino ?

Hooking up a LCD works fine with just 6 arduino pins. 4 data, E and RS. As been mentioned tie R/W to ground, its very unlikely you'll want to read the display. Use the standard LiquidCrystal library. Use a 10k pot for the contrast, higher value ones can cause problems.

This is where I started :