Trouble with backlight on my HD44780 4x20

Hey guys.

I'm kind of new to electronics in general and got my Arduino Uno about a week ago. I've purchased a 4x20 HD44780 compatible LCD screen that is supposedly a blue background with white characters. I've connected this with a 10k pot according(hopefully) to the example guide on the official site.

I do get the "Hello World" message and counter, but it's really dark and hard to read. When changing the potentiometer it goes from black with no text -> black with hardly visible text -> all blocks lightly lit with hardly visible text. I'm just assuming it should be a whole lot brighter than this. The LCD says "2004D v2.0" on the back which, but from the googled results I found I don't see that this would be differing from the described setup in the official guide.

Does anyone have any ideas what I could be doing wrong? Could this be an issue with the LCD unit? I'll get you a photo of my messy setup tomorrow when I have some better natural lighting.

Thanks.

Measured with multimeter both on the pot and on the LCD connections. I get the same variable voltage on both ends.

So I finally figured it out.

There two last pins are apparently for LED+ and LED-

I had just followed the official guide which didn’t state that you needed to connect the last two pins. However it did mention that these pins are LED+ and LED-. At the time when reading this I did not reflect upon this. Now that I figured it out it makes sense I suppose. Since the guide has a LED with no back lighting?

You really should check the datasheet for your LCD module to see if the backlight requires an external current limiting resistor. Some (most) do and some don't.

Don

floresta: You really should check the datasheet for your LCD module to see if the backlight requires an external current limiting resistor. Some (most) do and some don't.

Don