Trouble with looping

Hello,

So I'm new at Arduino, but not new to programming though my skills are a little rusty. I'm having a problem writing this sketch. The idea of the sketch is that when a button is pressed, an LED flashes and the letter "M" is sent to the computer and when the button is pressed again, the LED turns off and again the letter "M" is sent. I have everything working except for the flashing and reset. As of right now, the code allows me to start the flashing, but then gets hung up and will not accept another button press. It's as if it is not checking for a button change. I've tried while in place of the if clause (towards the bottom of the sketch) and even a do while. The do while didn't even check the while and would just flash without my control. Any help on this would be appreciated! Thanks!

This is on a Teensy 3.1 board.

int inPin = 20;
int outPin = 13;

int state = HIGH;
int reading;
int previous = LOW;
int blinking;

float time = 0;
float debounce = 300;
void setup()
{
pinMode(inPin, INPUT);
pinMode(outPin, OUTPUT);
delay(200);

}

void loop()
{
reading = analogRead(inPin);

if (reading == HIGH && previous == LOW && millis() - time > debounce) {
if (state == HIGH){
blinking = LOW;
state = LOW;
Keyboard.press(KEY_M);
delay(200);
Keyboard.release(KEY_M);
}
else { //supposed to start the blinking
blinking == HIGH;
Keyboard.press(KEY_M);
delay(200);
Keyboard.release(KEY_M);
state = HIGH;

}
time = millis();
}
digitalWriteFast(13, state);
previous = reading;

if (blinking == HIGH) { //this is where the problem seems to be
delay(1000);
digitalWriteFast(13, HIGH);
delay(1000);
digitalWriteFast(13, LOW);
}

}

Is there a reason why you are using analog reads instead of a digital input?

The digitalRead was taking too long. analogRead works a lot snappier. No other reason. Code works the same when digitalRead is enabled.

Astronerd: