Trouble with Xbee to Xbee communication using 2 ardiunos

Hi, I am very new to using Xbees with the ardiuno and I am having trouble understanding the basics of there programming in ardiuno. I am using 2 DF robot xbee shield V1.4, I have 2 Xbee Maxstreams, as well as an ardiuno duemilanove, and ardiuno uno(should I use 2 of the same types of ardiunos, or will using these two work?). For my final project I would like to have a keypad send commands into the ardiuno through the xbee to another ardiuno with an xbee controlling a motor. At the moment I am using a DC motor but I have access to a lot of servos so i am thinking I will switch. One of my main questions is how do the xbees communicate? Do I have to send signals through the serial in order for them to communicate? I am also not to great at programming and am not sure how to sync the xbees frequencies. Do I do that in the programming, or before hand with a different program? I mainly need to figure out how to program the ardiuno to send and receive through the Xbees. I have gotten the keypad to work as well as the motor but integrating them with the xbees is turning out to be much more difficult then I had hoped. I would love any simple programming examples of ardiunos communicating with xbees. Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Tyler

will using these two work?

Yes.

Now that you have your first post out of the way, you can post links. I'm not familiar with the "Maxstream" designator. You need to post a link to the XBees that you have.

One of my main questions is how do the xbees communicate?

That doesn't really matter, does it? The important thing is that they do. There are different modes (AT and API) and different topologies (point to point or mesh network). As long as you have a matched set of XBees, properly configured, they do communicate. That's all that really matters. Whether they do it using semaphores or smoke signals or IR or AM or FM or UHF or VHF or something else doesn't really matter.