troubles with knock sensor (wrong resistor?)

hi!

i'm new to arduino and have very little knowledge of electronics. i would like to build a sensor which measures the loudness of tabletop soccer goals and thought the knock sensor example (arduino.cc/en/Tutorial/Knock) would be a great starting point but i just can't get it right.

i tried the melody sketch first, to make shure my piezo element works – and i does. unfortunately i don't get any input when i try using it as a sensor.

my setup: i connected the black wire of the piezzeo element with ground and the red wire with analog pin 5. I also connected the two wires of the piezo elemen with a 1 megaohm resistor (i think that's a parallel connection) on the picture in the example the resistor was connecting analog pin 5 and the ground pin next to the 9V pin – i tried that as well but it didn't work either.

i used the example input sketch which came with the arduino library for processing to check the analog input values (worked fine for reading a potentiometer) but didn't get any results for the knock sensor.

i think the problem must be something with the resistor. in the example it says "We also have to connect a resistor in the range of the Megaohms in parallel to the Piezo element". is one Megaohm too little resistance? or did i get the connection wrong? how do i figure out what iss the correct value for the resistor?

cheers, pt

The resistor is probably fine, but the sensitivity of an un-amplified analog sensor like this will be low. You may need to amplify the signal from the piezo sensor before feeding it to the analog input. An op-amp (e.g the LM3900 quad op-amp) wired up as a non-inverting amplifier would be OK. Search for op-amp and non-inverting amplifier circuits, and see what you get.

thanks for your answer anachrocomputer!