trueRMS calculation for acoustic/audio signal

The below is code for true RMS calculation. I made a mistake in initializing timer and calculating number of samples. As a result, Output is not as desired. And also, did I defined the pre-scalar correctly ?.
I am new to the programming, so please excuse any basic mistakes.

Please Help … !!!

/* RMS calculation of Acoustic signal(0-20kHz)*/

// This project uses Arduino UNO R3(http://arduino.cc/en/Main/arduinoBoardUno) & Digit Shield(https://nootropicdesign.com/digitshield/) to display the output value 
// Since UNO board has timer of 8MHz, The prescalar is set to 16 to set the sampling frequency to 38.4kHz(although not twice of input frequency, initially will be testing it for accuracy)
// The input is continuosly attached to analog pin A1
// The program will be intialized based on the state of digital pin 6
// An LED attached to digital pin 7 will glow to indicate the active input signal
// Final RMS value will be displayed on seven segment display of digit shield

#include <DigitShield.h>  // Includes header file for digit shield display

const int buttonPin = 6 ; // Initialize digital pin 6 as buttonPin
int buttonState ;         // Initialize buttonState for HIGH or LOW
const int ledPin = 7;     // Initialize digital pin 7 as ledPin

int i ;                   // Initialize i for incrementing in for loop

unsigned long start_times;// Variable to store start time of the program
unsigned long stop_times; // Variable to store stop time of the program
unsigned long sampleStart;// Variable to store start time of the each sample
unsigned long sampleStop; // Variable to store stop time of the each sample

const unsigned char PS_16 = (1 << ADPS2);                                // Command to set prescalar to 16
const unsigned char PS_32 = (1 << ADPS2) | (1 << ADPS0);                 // Command to set prescalar to 32
const unsigned char PS_64 = (1 << ADPS2) | (1 << ADPS1);                 // Command to set prescalar to 64