Trying to break down code logic

I’ll start out with this; I’m a total newb to arduino. I got my first uno in the mail on monday and have only been playing with it for the last two evenings. Previously I had experience with a basic stamp 2 but I haven’t touched a microprocessor in a decade and have never worked with anything related to C(++). Since it will probably be asked, my application is a self leveling headlight for my motorcycle. While I am borrowing HEAVILY from code that’s already out there, I am trying to learn what that code does along the way so I have the knowledge either for future projects or to tweak my own once it’s done to get the results I want. Realizing that I’m probably going to get at least one “start with easy stuff and work your way up to this” response, I learn best by taking on projects that are way above my pay grade and figuring it out along the way. Tedious tutorials don’t help me other than figuring out the basic structures and syntax which I’m already fairly comfortable with.

So that said, my questions relate to the code found here

Which is a sketch to read a 6DOF IMU (I will be using this particular imu for prototyping purposes but I don’t know if it’s the one I will use for the final build).

I’ve managed to work my way through pretty much the whole program and with a lot of referencing to this site, actually do understand what it’s doing and why. At least until I got tho this part:

int readGyroX() { // This really measures the y-axis of the gyro
  uint8_t* data = i2cRead(gyroAddress, 0x1F, 2);
  return ((data[0] << 8) | data[1]);

Now I read this to say that a variable named “readGyro” is defined as follows:
an unsigned 8bit variable named “data” is assigned a value based on the data provided by the gyro

That data (according to the datasheet for the gyro) is 16bits long (2’s complement format) so it is split into 2 bytes of 8 bits each and as a result “data” becomes an array with 2 values