Trying to build a gps device

So I am new to arduino. And I am having trouble finding out some particular info. I want to build two possibly more gps devices that light up when they are getting close. How can I accomplish this with arduino?

The use for this is that my friends and I are regularly going to festivals, and I thought it would be a great device for hide and seek or a way to know when we are near each other while we are running around these events.

If anyone could lend some advice it would be greatly appreciated.

Joe

A smartphone would be a far better platform for this, as well as saving you from having to lug some DIY device around. You could write your own app, or look for an existing one such as Loopt.

We tried that, but the problem we run into is service area coverage. We have pretty much no service at festivals like electric forest or burning man.

What sort of range are you aiming for? If you're relying on GPS presumably you aren't expecting very good resolution on the position so a very short range solution wouldn't be much use.

Do you really just want an LED? A direction/range indication would seem more useful to let you find where another person is.

The GPS part is pretty simple. The hard part is transmitting the location to the other unit(s). Consider that you need to have all units broadcasting their positions, without stepping on each others' broadcast. The size of a packet and how often they are sent, will probably be the primary factor for determining how big a battery you use.

It would be great if I could have a range of about 2000ft

An led was the plan, it would be awesome if it could have a light point in the direction or light up once it is pointing in the right direction. I wasn't sure how to do this just yet but I figured that step would be easier to figure out. If rf or Bluetooth is an option that would be great, but I am not sure they would have the range.

Lar3ry