Trying to make a mic preamp

I am trying to make a preamp for a 3-wire electret microphone for my Uno.

I tried following this schematic:

Here is a Fritzing diagram of what I have done.

Here’s a list of the parts:

1	Ceramic Capacitor	capacitance 0.1µF; voltage 35V
1	Electrolytic Capacitor	capacitance 4.7µF; voltage 35V
1	Arduino UNO (Rev3)
1	3-wire Electret Microphone*	
3	10k ? Resistor	resistance 10k?
1	1k ? Resistor	resistance 1k?
1	LM386N

*The electret mic isn’t a breakout board like in the picture. I couldn’t find a 3-wire mic in Fritzing, so I had to use that.

I am new to electronics and building circuits, and still haven’t completely figured out breadboards, so the problem could be something very simple. My dad used to do a lot of this, but that being 20 years ago he wasn’t sure what to do either.

The program I’ve been using to test the microphone is the one found here:
https://www.inkling.com/read/arduino-cookbook-michael-margolis-2nd/chapter-6/recipe-6-7

The input in the Serial Monitor varies between ~160,000 and ~250,000 depending on what I (re)move, so obviously I did something wrong.

Is there anything I can do to even get this thing to work? Or do I need a different mic and/or IC? If anyone could help it would be greatly appreciated.

I’ve attached the Fritzing project so someone can alter it for themselves or to show me what would work, or for whatever other purpose.

Thanks!

Mic preamp.fzz (6.98 KB)

Well, first... the LM386 is not a dual op-amp. It's a small power amp in a chip, meant to drive a speaker output. Find an NE5532 or TL072 -- they're both ubiquitous and cheap. :slight_smile:

OK, thanks. I’ll try to get one of those soon. Other than that, how would I have to change the circuit in order for it to work with a 3-wire mic?

I’ve had really good results with these single stage preamps, the quality of the opamp/mic make a difference. Use a socket for opamp so you can try different ones that are pin compatible.