trying to receive part of a char array without using String

Hello,

this probably is a rather simple questions for the pros, but as I’m a complete newbie when init comes to development for Microcontrollers and (for that matter) plain old standard C, it poses a huge burden on me.

What I’d like to achieve is to get a substring from a char array into another char array without using the String class.

My initial string looks like this: enD: bluemc99 or others might look like so enT: track001.mp3

And I want it to be bluemc99 or of course track001.mp3
where both of which of course would finally end up in different char arrays as one is the directory whereas the other is the first track (mp3 file) within this directory to play.

This is my code, but instead of giving me bluemc99 it ends up with bluemc?⸮?

void setup() {
  Serial.begin(115200);

char plrCurrentFolder[9];

// put your setup code here, to run once:
  // the string we search through
  const char haystack[] = "enD: bluemc99";

// the character we are looking for
  const char needle = 'n';

// this holds the next character after the needle (n)
  char charAtPosition[1];

// this holds a pointer to the rest of the string, after the needle (n) was found
  char *ret;

// get pointer by searching for the needle in the haystack
  ret = strchr(haystack, needle);

// clear memory address of charAtPosition
  memset(charAtPosition, '\0', sizeof(charAtPosition));

Serial.print(F("String after "));
  Serial.print(needle);
  Serial.print(F(" is "));
  Serial.print(ret[1]);
  Serial.print(F(" in the haystack "));
  Serial.println(ret);

for (byte c=1; c<sizeof(ret); c++) {
    if (ret[c] == 'D'){
      Serial.print(F(" Found a "));Serial.println(ret[c]);
      for (byte d=1; d<sizeof(ret)-2; d++) {
        plrCurrentFolder[d-1] = ret[d];
      }
      break;
    }
  }

Serial.print(F(" plrCurentFolder now contains "));
  Serial.println(plrCurrentFolder);
}

void loop() {
  // put your main code here, to run repeatedly:

}