Trying to run 2 timing funcions

I am trying to run 2 timing functions. I can get either one to run independently, but once one timer starts, the other one will NOT run. The basic jist is that the user starts the timer. The timer will run until the a hanging weight breaks the ‘test material’ and it falls and trips the limit switch below (see JPG for image).

Thanks for your help. I am a mfg engineer with very little software training.

StopWatch1.txt (3.41 KB)

Image from Original Post so we don’t have to download it. See this Simple Image Guide

Tester pic.JPG

…R

I can’t figure how your code is supposed to work - can you write a short description of the different parts please. And then tell us exactly what happens and what you want it to do that is different.

Also it is much easier if you post your code as a .ino file and if you post short programs within your text. Use the code button </> so your code looks like this and is easy to copy to a text editor. See How to use the Forum

…R

Here’s the attached Arduino program in “INO” format. Also with better documentation. Thank you, Ben

Stopwatch1.ino (3.68 KB)

Jeez, why not just POST the code?

#include <LiquidCrystal.h>
LiquidCrystal lcd(3,4,8,9,10,11);
const int Start1 = 2;   //start switch for test station 1
const int WtDrop1 = A2;    //Weight drop switch for test station 1
const int Start2 = A0;       //start switch for test station 2
const int WtDrop2 = A1;   //Weight drop switch for test station 2
const int LED = 13;          //Arduino SMT LED

void setup(){
  lcd.begin(16,2);  //setup the LCD's number of columns and rows

Serial.begin(9600);

pinMode(Start1, INPUT);   //starts timer #1      
  pinMode(WtDrop1, INPUT); //Limit switch sensing if weight #1 has dropped       
  pinMode(Start2, INPUT);   //starts timer #2 
  pinMode(WtDrop2, INPUT); //Limit switch sensing if weight #2 has dropped      
  pinMode(LED, OUTPUT);
  lcd.clear();
}
double sec1 = 0;         //seconds for test 1