TTL Output by Arduino

Hi,

I am really new to electronics and programming. For a fluid dynamics project I would like to create a pulsed LED light source inspired by this paper:

http://www.researchgate.net/publication/228668240_Pulsed_operation_of_high-power_light_emitting_diodes_for_imaging_flow_velocimetry

I attached an image of the circuitry.

Talking to our electronics workshop, I have been told, that this setup would need a TTL signal with 5V.

Is it possible to create something like this with an arduino?

I might need to create pulses in the μs range (approx. 2 μs duration with a 15 μs delay). The LEDs need a rise time of greater than 0.5 μs from 10% to 90%. Can this be programmed?

I know these are a lot of specific question, but I hope you have some advice for me. :slight_smile:

Yes.

Look at analogWrite(). I believe it will get close enough to that timing specification. If not, you can write pins directly at that frequency.

Rise time is not programmable but it easily exceeds your spec.

Yeah - I don't think analogWrite() itself will do it, but you can definitely do it if you take over the timers.

You know, you probably won't need the gate driver if you use a modern (ie, logic level) MOSFET to begin with, though you'd need to put a little thought into it. How big a LED is this that you're switching, anyway?

In that circuit the capacitors are drawn the wrong way round. The open box is always positive and the black filled in box is always negative. There is no need for the diode D1 unless you are switching an inductive load, which you are not.
You need a resistor between the output of U1 and the gate of the FET, to limit the initial switch on current to a safe level for U1.

Hi,

thank you very much for all your answers! :slight_smile:

@Grumpy_Mike
I will look up, what a FET does, as I am new to electronics, there is a lot of reading ahead. Here is some more information about the setup written by the "inventors":