Turning 0V/0.1V into digital LOW/HIGH?

Hi!

I am working on a circuit for train detection on a model railroad using current sensing.
The diode voltage drop when a car or engine is detected is 0.1V.

While I can use analog read for this, I wonder if there is a simple way to turn this small
voltage into a high/low signal, so that I can use all Arduino I/O pins and not just the analog ones?

Each detection block requires a circuit like the one below, so that’s why it is key that only very
few components are needed. Otherwise I’ll just use a couple more Pro Mini’s to get the number
of analog inputs I need.

Any thoughts on this?
I have some experience with circuits, but I’m by no means an electronics engineer and any help
would be appreciated.

Thanks,
Kay

Diode_Circuit.png

Hi.

Diode_Circuit.png

Can you also mention the values used for those components ?

Used an LM339 voltage comparator.
Use a forward biased 1N34 as a reference with a voltage divider.

MAS3:
Hi.

Diode_Circuit.png

Can you also mention the values used for those components ?

Sure!
220 ohm resistors and a 1uF cap to turn the square wave AC signal into cleaner DC.
1N5400 diodes and a 1N4148 to clip the negative voltage.

LarryD:
Used an LM339 voltage comparator.
Use a forward biased 1N34 as a reference with a voltage divider.

Thanks Larry, but I need 30 or more detection circuits.
Adding comparators and such adds too many additional components
and using additional Pro Mini's would be much cheaper and easier to
build.

Kay

For your future reference, there are 4 compactors in each chip.

Do you need 30 individual input points or can they be ORed together to 1?

Why D3 ?

That circuit first drops 0.65volt across the 1N5400 diodes, and then almost all of it is thrown away with D3.

You could replace D3 and C1 with a small signal transistor, e.g BC547.
Then you have an open collector output that can switch an Arduino pin with pull-up resistor to ground.