Turning off an array using all at once

Hi,

I’m new to Arduino and quite enjoying it…for the most part.

For my engineering course, we were set the task of sequencing 6 LEDs using an array. We had learnt about turning a sequence on and off the week before using an external switch through an “if else” statement so I thought I would incorporate a switch into the circuit (just so I can get my head around how this whole system works).

What I want to do is to commence the sequence if the switch is HIGH but send ALL of the LEDs LOW if the switch is LOW. I’m happy for the sequence to finish if the switch is turned off mid-cycle. I think if I use a “while” statement I can get the sequence to finish as soon as the switch is turned off but for now, I want to use an “if else” statement (if it is possible).

The problem is, I don’t seem to be able to turn the LEDs off. The sequence will happily step through but when I set the switch to LOW, the LEDs stay on. Could someone please alert me to what I am doing wrong? I have an exam on Arduino on Wednesday night so I’d kinda like to have a reasonable grasp of the subject :). My program is below…

I think it is something to do with the syntax I am using to turning the array off (last line of the program) but I’m not sure. Any help is greatly appreciated.

Kind regards,
Troy

//Week 5 Prac 1_Sequencing LEDs using an array

// Declarations

const int Switch = 2; // Pin 2 declared as “Switch”
const int DelayPeriod = 1000; // Declare a constant delay period of 1 second
int SwitchState = 0; // The variable “SwitchState” is declared
int LEDs = {10,12,7,9,11,8}; // The Array
int pincount = 6; // Number of O/Ps for the Array

void setup() // SETUP routine will run once when the Arduino RESET button is pressed
{
for(int count=0; count<pincount; count++) // Assign the array pins their array position
pinMode(LEDs[count], OUTPUT); // “LEDs” initialised as O/P for LOOP
}

void loop() // LOOP routine runs continuously
{