Twin engine Plane

I am very new at this, so you will have to bear with me. I want to control the speed of two gas engines (Evolution GX10) with RC servos,

1. Signal s in
    a. RC Receiver
    b. Engine 1 Hall probe on drive shaft
    c. Engine 2 hall probe on drive shaft
  2. Signal Out
    a. Servo 1 controlling Engine 1
    b. Servo 2 controlling engine 2
  3. Requirements
    a. Engine 1 and 2 speeds to be balanced
    b. Engine speed to be controlled by receiver from radio gear
    c. If one engine cuts out, then other engine goes to idle
    d. Engine start mode
    e. Light weight and reliable.
    Has anyone done this before, and also please don’t be too technical with answers, I’m not an electronics expert.

Have you worked out how to connect the sensors to the engines? What output they have? What programming experience do you have?

Weedpharma

No problem, except I don't understand what signals the RC receiver provides, for input to the Arduino. Does it have an servo output (PWM), or what else do you want to use for speed control?

How do you intend to use the hall sensors on the drive shafts (unbalance!)? Eventually I'd use an optical sensor, measuring the revolutions of the air screws, without impact on the mechanical balance. But I'm not a plane expert ;-)

The hall effect sensor and crankshaft magnet is already there for the ignition. A second hall effect sensor installed at or near the ignition sensor shouldn't do anything to the engine balance.

Start your program in stages, by reading the sensor and then operating the servo for engine control. Once you have basic engine control according to sensor reading look at the comparison part with shutdown to idle.

Once the control is done, move to reading the RC input and converting to servo output.

Add a part at a time saving the working version as a separate program that you can go back to when the new part fails.

Weedpharma