Two different millis() sessions

Hi,

I am trying to put together a little project. I am using a nano board to read values from a water level sensor and to control a water pump if the value is to high. I am using it to pump water out from a container behind the fridge/freezer. Two 18650 batteries will power the board and I will have a 5v voltage regulator for the pump along an npn transistor to act as a switch. As you can tell from my code I am a beginner with Arduino and I`ve looked on the web for few days before coming here. This is my code which works 'fine' to some point.

int pump = 8;
unsigned long previousMillis1 = 0;
const long read_interval = 3000;   
unsigned long previousMillis2 = 0;
const long pump_run_interval = 5000; 
void setup(){
  pinMode(pump, OUTPUT);
  Serial.begin(9600);
}
void loop(){
  unsigned long currentMillis = millis();

if (currentMillis - previousMillis1 >= read_interval){
     previousMillis1 = currentMillis;
    int level = analogRead(A0); // read input value 
    Serial.print("Pin Value   ");
    Serial.println(level);  
  if (level > 600 ){
    digitalWrite(pump, HIGH);}
   if (currentMillis - previousMillis2 >= pump_run_interval){     
       previousMillis2 = currentMillis;
       digitalWrite(pump, LOW);}

}
 }

Everything works fine until I change the interval time. If the read_interval is higher than the pump_run_interval the pump does not start anymore. The interval time I am using here is just for testing purpose. The real world intervals will be about 10min for read_interval and I have to perform some tests to find out how long it takes to empty the container for the pump_run_interval.

Any help will be appreciated.
Thanks

You have the code for your pump timing inside the IF code for your read timing. They need to be separate.

...R

This might help too:
Demonstration code for several things at the same time