Two LED Fading Sequence Controlled by Switch on Analog Input

I am new to programming in general, and this is my first time on the forum, so advanced apologies for likely generating a few face-palms! :slight_smile:

I am working on a lighting sequence for my Star Trek USS Enterprise model, and need a toggle switch on A-1 to initiate a slow fade on at PWM-9. Upon PWM-9 reaching full brightness, I would like PWM-10 to then fade on as PWM-9 fades off.

PWM-10 should remain at full brightness until the toggle switch is turned off, at which point both PWM’s fade off.

As it stands, the sequence begins properly, but PWM-9 continues to cycle on and off as long as the switch is on, and PWM-10 won’t fade off at all.

I have found numerous topics and tutorials which address bits and pieces of my dilemma but nothing that I have been able to integrate successfully. Any help would be greatly appreciated!

AnalogInput_to_analog_Output.ino (1.76 KB)

if (ledPin9 == 0);

^^ This doesn't do anything.
Lose the semicolon.
If you then need more than 1 statement to be conditional, put { } around the block.
Edit to add: Also, ledPin9 = 9. It will never be 0.

for (int x = 0; x >= 255; x -= 1)

^^ This doesn't do anything.
You start x at zero, so it will never meet the condition of x >= 255.

Thanks, Jobi-Wan! I’ve gotten the first item deleted, and nothing in the sequence has changed. As to the second part, I think I need to be tracking the value of the PWM outputs in order to fade them back to zero once the switch is off. Any suggestions?

SteveS467:
Thanks, Jobi-Wan! I've gotten the first item deleted, and nothing in the sequence has changed. As to the second part, I think I need to be tracking the value of the PWM outputs in order to fade them back to zero once the switch is off. Any suggestions?