Two motors with shared ground, Induvidual control

Hi All,

To preface this post I am a programmer who is still very new to learning electronics so I am likely misunderstanding a basic concept and also totally misusing words. Please correct my where I am wrong so I can learn!

Trying to work with an existing piece of hardware and having issues getting it to work how I want. The existing hardware is just two motors on wires, the catch being it terminates at a connector with Motor1 +, Motor 2+ and ground (shared between both motors), attached a fritzing picture of this just incase this wasn't clear (and im pretty sure by Law you have to include one to post on here)

The goal is to be able to individually drive each motor which seems very simple but I just cant figure it out.
I have had success driving one motor at a time with both a MOSFET and an NPN transistor following the online guides below but when I try and get the second one going using the same method I just end up with both running at the same time.
My understanding of this (please correct me if I am wrong) is that because you are switching on the ground in the tutorials as long as either is opening a path to ground both motors will run

Logical next step is to switch on the positive connection side but this gives some strange results between not working at all to switching between low voltage and higher voltage but never off. Also I cannot seem to find any examples where circuits have been wired like this so makes me think this approach is wrong.

Thanks in advance for any help!

kwhohasamullet:
I have had success driving one motor at a time with both a MOSFET and an NPN transistor following the online guides below but when I try and get the second one going using the same method I just end up with both running at the same time

Really, it's best to just bypass references to the tutorial, and show us a schematic of the circuit that doesn't work. Is your problem in trying to make them run bidirectionally?