Two Serial.read() needed

I am fairly new to the Arduino platform and I wanted to receive one letter per player into different arrays. For example, player one enters "a" and ideally, the system waits for player two. After input of player two, the serial monitor displays moves: Player 1 moves to a, player 2 moves to e. This is not what is happening, after input of first character, the serial monitor skips to end of loop and waits for player 1 input.

if (Serial.available() > 0){
    char play1 = Serial.read();
    Serial.print("play1: ");
    Serial.println(play1);
    }
    if (Serial.available() > 0){
    char play2 = Serial.read();
    Serial.print("play2: ");
    Serial.println(play2);
    }

Here is the output:

play1: a
play2: 

play1: b
play2:

any suggestions or is this even possible to receive multiple read statements?

This is not what is happening, after input of first character, the serial monitor skips to end of loop and waits for player 1 input.

But, it’s what you told it to do. Serial.available() checks whether there is data to read. It doesn’t wait for data to be available or somehow make data available.

If you want to wait for serial data, you have to wait:

while(Serial.available() < 1)
{
  // Not a darn thing.
}

How are you sending the data? With a carriage return?

This definitely does not work for me:

if (Serial.available() < 1){

I am using no line ending, but when I do this with carriage return, no line ending or any off them, I get this “play2: ÿ” in an endless loop.

without that bit of code and going back to my original code, if I enter multiple letters, it will format correctly, but that is defeating the purpose.
one letter at a time:
play1: a
play2: ÿ

multiple letters at a time:

play1: c
play1: d
play2: e
play1: f
play2: g
play1: h
play2: i

This definitely does not work for me:
Code:

How many numbers that “Serial.available” is likely to return, are less than one?

Post your code.