typedef unsigned char uint8;

I am new to the C game so forgive me if this sounds stupid.

I have seen this (typedef unsigned char uint8;) done several times an I don't understand why

I understand that by doing this you are basically making up your own type. And the "structure" you are making is an 8 bit structure that is unsigned ( I understand that) and is defined as a "char".

The standard "char" is already an 8 bit structure that by definition is unsigned. Why do this???

I also see "uint8" on a regular basis. I also understand this to be an unsigned 8 bit structure. Basically, it is a "byte". Again, why not use a "byte"?

Ken

I don't know why you would like your own type called uint8... I never do that anyway. There is already a build in type called uint8_t.

And no, char is not unsigned on the arduino. If you don't specify it a char is signed :slight_smile: (At least on the default Arduino platforms)

It allows you to use more intuitive datatypes through your code. Your example is not a big issue because I'm fairly sure an unsigned char is an unsigned char everywhere but if you code on multiple platforms, something like an int may be 16 bits or it may be 32 bits. Giving them explicit names means you can come back to it and know exactly what you're dealing with.

KenK:
The standard "char" is already an 8 bit structure that by definition is unsigned.

char is not unsigned. Nor is it signed. The standard allows either. char is not like int or long. In the Arduino world you can encounter either form of char.

If you (the programmer) want an unsigned 8 bit value then that is your responsibility.

septillion:
(At least on the default Arduino platforms)

I believe char is unsigned with the ARM compiler.

For what it's worth, there is a detailed discussion of char à la Arduino somewhere on this forum.

First, thanks for the input.