UBUNTU 15.10 ALERT

Hi, i have been 3 days sorting this out, but i came to the conclusion and repeatability of this bug.

When you install the plug in, your are asked 3 times for your password and after that the progress bar will stop at 93%. Now your HDD will fail on reboot.

The bad thing is that when you reboot, your HDD will have severe blocks damage. With no repair! I had to reinstall my operative system more than 5 times because of this bug. Be very carefull, This bug left an ALERT tag on my HDD saying that it will die soon.

I am not kidding about this bug, i made it repeatable. I am no expert in bug reporting but there you go.

Hope this helps people not to damage their HDDS.

Sorry for my english.

F.

Hi @webchimex, We are all using Ubuntu with all different versions and never found this. That is more likely a bug in Ubuntu itself.

Just wondering, are you using an encrypted filesystem?

The block damage of the HDD is completely unrelated to the plugin. If you have an HDD Alert it is more likely your HDD is pretty old and then damaged so writing on disk our plugin just hit a broken block and your system crashed.

Please give us your

/var/log/syslog and dmesg to investigate further since you are able to reproduce.

Hi, yea .. strange thing right? here i send you the info requested. i have a clean system since i just reinstalled yesterday.
Funny thing is that i did that 5 times because i kept installing system and doing my normal system set up, and all 5 times at the end i was setting up my arduino environment and installing the plugin. So after 5 times i started to realize what was going on. So i did 2 more installs to check repeatability and in fact, after installing the plugin (actually could not fully install it kept at 93%, but i could still use the plugin) and rebooting the hdd blocks where damaged.

In fact the hdd still presents damage, the thing is that it wont fail until i run the plug in.