ultrasonic sensor hc-sr04: how to give digital output

hi ive just got the hc-sr04 and ive been scouring the web but i cant find any thing
i want to give a digital output using
if (distance > 30) command but i have no luck
thanks

p.s i only started coding a few weeks ago

Was there nothing in the 109,000 results that google managed to find?

Start here: http://playground.arduino.cc/Code/NewPing

I always start by reading and understanding any example sketches I can find. If you get stuck you can always ask on the forum for an explanation.

Happy pinging.

Edit: I'd guess from your other post on this subject that you just want someone to write a sketch for you. Better to have tried and failed than to never have tried at all.

If you can't supply the code, we cannot say why it does not work.

Weedpharma

Going by your other thread on what I suspect is the exact same question, you want the LED to come on when the distance is over a certain value?

You said in that other thread you can't find how to code an if?... you clearly didn't look very well, since for the exact answer you don't even need to leave this site.

When you're back at your own computer, get back to us with the code you have so far. If it doesn't work, explain what's happening that shouldn't be, or what isn't that should be, and then you'll get some proper help.

// ---------------------------------------------------------------------------
// Example NewPing library sketch that does a ping about 20 times per second.
// ---------------------------------------------------------------------------

#include <NewPing.h>

#define TRIGGER_PIN 12 // Arduino pin tied to trigger pin on the ultrasonic sensor.
#define ECHO_PIN 11 // Arduino pin tied to echo pin on the ultrasonic sensor.
#define MAX_DISTANCE 200 // Maximum distance we want to ping for (in centimeters). Maximum sensor distance is rated at 400-500cm.
int cm = 0;