Ultrasonic "Sensory Extension" Wearable

Hello,

I'm prototyping a sensory extension device that would collect ultrasonic frequency information between ~ 15kHz - 45kHz. My intent is to trigger a specific spatiotemporal pattern, on a vibrotactile array located on the back of the hand, in response to a given subdivided frequency range within the overall 15-45kHz range (for example: trigger tactile pattern x, when frequency range 20-23kHz is detected). It's pretty much an tactile-to-auditory sensory augmentation setup.

I'm having a hard time finding a breakout board that's compatible with the ultrasonic MEMS mic that I require (Ultrasonic MEMS Sensor SPU0410LR5H, http://www.digikey.com/product-detail/en/knowles/SPU0410LR5H-QB-7/423-1139-1-ND/2420983). AND since I have no experience with electrical engineering, I'm also having a hard time figuring out how to procure a custom PCB with the appropriate MEMS footprint. Once I have the mic breakout figured out, I believe I can just use this Sparkfun opamp breakout to boost the signal: https://www.sparkfun.com/products/9816.

IF I'm able to work out the above issues, I then need to find the right frequency analysis code. Could I use the Simple Audio Frequency Meter library to do this? I understand that I would have to increase the bandwidth parameters...would this also be possible?

If not, what would be your recommendation for such a sensor application, with regards to either the hardware and/or software?

I hope this is not too confusing:)

Best, Nick

Could I use the Simple Audio Frequency Meter library to do this?

No. I think that will only give you a single frequency measurement based on zero crossing times. You probably need to go to an FFT. However, you will have to up the sample rate to 100KHz to begin to get something meaningful at the top range. Have you worked out how you are going to do that?

believe I can just use this Sparkfun opamp breakout to boost the signal