Unable to get USBtinyISP to work with Max OSX Catalina

Hi all

Firstly, I hate being a total newb, but I am. 1,000 apologies if firstly posting in the wrong area and secondly if I’m asking (seemingly) silly questions. I just can’t handle it anymore and need help, 2+ days of trying to sort this out and I just simply can’t - it’s seemingly well above my pay grade.

Background: I’m a remote control car/truck guy and have decided I wanted to modify my Turnigy 9x V2 transmitter. Now, this transmitter is widely used and modified as it’s a cheap and awesome unit that when you modify the software with Open TX it makes it very powerful.

There are a lot of online tutorials on the web to do this, that’s how I learned about Arduino and these forums.

The original Youtube video that took me down this path is here. (He starts soldering the wires to the board inside the Transmitter at this timestamp if interested). (Another one here as well with images and links to his video.)

This fella makes it look VERY simple to do this. Using a USBtinyISP and OpenTX it looks simple. (The radio I have can not use the most recent version of OpenTX software due to a known issue, so I have to use version 2.1.9).

I wired it up as per the first video and checked it about 10 times. The red LED come on on the USBtinyISP and also powers the transmitter, so that’s correct at least.

I downloaded OpenTX as stated above and couldn’t get it to find Avrdude until I searched about 2hrs worth of posts and worked out how to get it in the right directory through terminal etc. Also downloaded the latest Arduino program. It seems that in both programs it just simply can’t see the USBtinyISP at all. Especially in Ardunio, the only ports visible are Bluetooth which seems to be a well-documented issue in Mac OSX.

Have I overlooked something incredibly simple? Should “something” turn up under ports in Arduino software? I’d do anything to get this to work at this stage… :o

Anyhow, my specs below: