Unable to read data over serial USB from certain software

I’m trying to make a serial cash drawer activator using an Arduino Uno. It’s a pretty simple project that just requires the Uno to watch for a character code on the serial interface and energise the cash drawer’s solenoid for a split second when it receives it.

I have it working for the most part, with the Uno attached via it’s USB cable I can send it the code using Putty and it opens the cash drawer correctly.

The point of sales software that I need it to work is a different story however, as far as I can tell the Uno doesn’t receive any data I send from this software. The port settings are all the same as Putty’s and if I sniff the port traffic it looks like the code is being successfully sent.

Unfortunately I’m not experienced enough with serial communication to figure out why the Uno is unable to read the data and was hoping someone might be able to point me in the right direction. I’ve attached sniffer logs of the port data in case that helps.

Here’s the code I have loaded in the Uno itself, it’s currently set to trigger on an ‘a’.

int drawer = 3; // the pin the cash drawer is connected to
unsigned int lastTrigger = 0;

void setup() {
  pinMode(drawer, OUTPUT);
  Serial.begin(9600);
}

void loop() {
  if((millis() - lastTrigger) > 100) {
    digitalWrite(drawer, LOW);
  }
}

void serialEvent() {
  while (Serial.available()) {
    byte value = Serial.read();

if(value == 97) {
      digitalWrite(drawer, HIGH);
      lastTrigger = millis();
    }
  }
}

Logs.zip (3.62 KB)

Have a look at the examples in Serial Input Basics - simple reliable non-blocking ways to receive data. There is also a parse example to illustrate how to extract numbers from the received text.

…R

Cheers Robin,

I tried changing my Arduino code to the following as the post suggests:

int drawer = 3; // the pin the cash drawer is connected to
unsigned int lastTrigger = 0;

void setup() {
  pinMode(drawer, OUTPUT);