Unable to run toy motor.

Hi guys. I am looking for help for a simple program ( circ-03 ). Its a small prg to run Motor using Transistor,. It is like this, I have wired the arduino board as mentioned in tutorials. Transistor used is S.8050 d331. and resistor 2.2k ohms. When i connect the toy motor, the motor does not run but when i use a led , the Led runs okay on this sketch. I have verified motor by running it on 1.5 V cell. I have two pairs of motors. Both checked. I have checked the transistor also and it is working. I am observing voltage drop, but one my friend says its normal. I am a novice in electronics and programming.. Any help will be appreciated... Thanks.

Make a simple pencil drawing showing exactly how YOU have connected everything and post a photo of the drawing.

Also post the program that YOU have uploaded to your Arduino - which Arduino board are you using?

The problem might be that you are trying to power the motor from the Arduino 5v pin and it cannot provide enough current for the motor. An LED uses a great deal less current. But without seeing your diagram this is just a guess.

...R

Also I think that if you aren't using a dedicated motor control board you will need a diode in there as well to protect the Arduino.

Sir, Its Arduino Uno board, and yes i am connecting to 5 V pin. There is a diode as well. The Circuit is as per attached 2 images..

Reference .:Spin Motor Spin:. - (Transistor and Motor) - CIRC03 - YouTube

PROGRAMME

int motorPin = 9;

void setup() {
// put your setup code here, to run once:
pinMode(motorPin, OUTPUT);
}

void loop() {
// put your main code here, to run repeatedly:
motorOnThenOff();
//motorOnThenOffWithSpeed()
//motorAcceleration()

}

void motorOnThenOff() {

int onTime = 5000;
int offTime = 1000;
digitalWrite(motorPin, HIGH);
delay(onTime);
digitalWrite(motorPin, LOW);
delay(offTime);

}