Unconnected Pins On Custom MEGA2560

Hello guys, I am pretty new in designing and programming, and I am a little confused about my project.

I designed a "DIY Arduino2560" to improve performances of my board and use it as "standalone mode".

On the ATMEGA2560 I am only using those ports (apart from RX/TX and XTAL):

• SDA (PD1)
  • SCL (PD0)
  • Analog I/O : PE0 / PE1 / PE4 / PE5 / PE6 and PE7.

I read in the datasheet (page 83 to 87) that unconnected pins have to be connected to internal pull-up resistor to reduce power consumption.

I know that for using this "empty µC" I have to program the Arduino bootloader by using the example ArduinoISP from the IDE, but I don't know where and how to set up the pull-up resistor.

Is it in this bootloader program? If anyone can enlighten me :slight_smile:

Thanks

You can set all unused pins to a pinMode of INPUT_PULLUP.

It may be convenient to use a "for" loop at the start to just set every pin to that, or at least all the higher-numbered pins. You would have to be careful that this is effectively setting pins weakly to HIGH and you do not want this to happen to certain outputs.

Unconnected, un-initialised pins may tend to increase current consumption a little.

miguel_03567:

Quote from: miguel_03567I read in the datasheet (page 83 to 87) that unconnected pins have to be connected to internal pull-up resistor to reduce power consumption.

This part?

13.2.6 Unconnected Pins
If some pins are unused, it is recommended to ensure that these pins have a defined level. Even though most of the digital inputs are disabled in the deep sleep modes as described above, floating inputs should be avoided to reduce current consumption in all other modes where the digital inputs are enabled (Reset, Active mode and Idle mode).