Understanding Indexes

Hey! I’m pretty new to Arduino and I’m working on a project that keeps talking about indexes, but I’m not sure what it means or how to use it. Also, int8_t keeps appearing but I have no idea what that means either… Here’s the sample code:

/************************************************* ************************************************** ******
* OPEN-SMART Red Serial MP3 Player Lesson 1: Play a song
NOTE!!! First of all you should download the voice resources from our google drive:
https://drive.google.com/drive/folders/0B6uNNXJ2z4CxaFVzZEZZVTR5Snc?usp=sharing

Then unzip it and find the 01 and 02 folder and put them into your TF card (should not larger than 32GB). 

* You can learn how to play a song with its index in the TF card.
* The following functions are available:
/--------basic operations---------------/
mp3.play();
mp3.pause();
mp3.nextSong();
mp3.previousSong();
mp3.volumeUp();
mp3.volumeDown();
mp3.forward();    //fast forward
mp3.rewind();     //fast rewind
mp3.stopPlay();  
mp3.stopInject(); //when you inject a song, this operation can stop it and come back to the song befor you inject
mp3.singleCycle();//it can be set to cycle play the currently playing song 
mp3.allCycle();   //to cycle play all the songs in the TF card
/--------------------------------/

mp3.playWithIndex(int8_t index);//play the song according to the physical index of song in the TF card

mp3.injectWithIndex(int8_t index);//inject a song according to the physical index of song in the TF card when it is playing song.

mp3.setVolume(int8_t vol);//vol is 0~0x1e, 30 adjustable level

mp3.playWithFileName(int8_t directory, int8_t file);//play a song according to the folder name and prefix of its file name
                                                            //foler name must be 01 02 03...09 10...99
                                                            //prefix of file name must be 001...009 010...099