Understanding LCD problems

Hi everybody,
I'm a beginner who started using Arduino with a small group of friends. We have a Mega2560 and we'd like to power and program an LCD screen, we have a 1620A.

We connected every single pin between the LCD and the Arduino, following the necessary scheme correctly. We just miss a resistor between V0 and ground, as asked by the official scheme, though we think it might not be the actual reason of our problem.

Our problem is that the screen is actually powered and the backlight turns on, but it shows no data at all or characters or text.

We already tried the standard LCD library, then also the Fmalpartida one, but we have no results.

Is the resistor really the problem? Does it affect the contrast which might be zero now, without it?

Thanks a lot for any kind of help, we would really appreciate.

I can't read Italian but it appears that you provided more information when you posted in the Italian section of the forum than you did here and it looks like you got some answers as well.

If you still have a problem then let us know what LCD you are using, what code you are using, etc.

Aa far as the contrast is concerned your display will typically be blank if you do not connect pin 3. You must connect either a potentiometer as shown in most datasheets or a resistor as your 'official scheme', whatever that is, indicates. Many devices work acceptably with pin 3 connected to GND but few or none of them work with the pin left disconnected.

Don

ItalianBiker:
We connected every single pin between the LCD and the Arduino, following the necessary scheme correctly.

You only need connections to four data pins - the other four are left unconnected.

ItalianBiker:
We just miss a resistor between V0 and ground, as asked by the official scheme, though we think it might not be the actual reason of our problem.

Might not?