Understanding structures and pointers

Hi, as I am very new to structures and pointers there are some open questions. I declared some structures and now I try to get the right variable-usage. I destilled my code down, to make it more obvious where my question ist targeting.

typedef struct {
  time_t time;
  byte color[5];
} PROGMEM tSchedule;

typedef struct {
  byte anyVar1;
  tSchedule schedule[];
} PROGMEM tProgram;

typedef struct {
  byte anyVar2;
  tProgram* program; // this should be a pointer
} PROGMEM tChanels;

tProgram aPrograms[7];
tChanels aChanels[9];

So besides some other variables there is an array of tSchedule in every tProgram which should hold the values. All tPrograms should be held in an array aPrograms.

In the Structure tChanels there should be a pointer to a tProgram (an element of aPrograms).

Now the questions are, if my structure-declaration does what I like it to do and: How do I address a color from a tChanel? Is that the right way:

aChanels[0].program -> schedule[0].color[0] = 255;

How do I pass the pointer? Is that correct?

tProgram* pointer = aChanels[0].program; // a pointer itself
tProgram* pointer2 = aPrograms[0]; // no pointer itself

Is there an easy way to cycle through all aChanles[].program without calling a tProgram twice? I would generate an additional tProgram-array holding all pointers which are held in aChanels[], but maybe there is a smarter solution using some query or such.

Thanks, Kevin

Now the questions are, if my structure-declaration does what I like it to do

Not entirely.

tSchedule schedule[];

The size of the array must be defined somehow. Either you explicitly define it, or you supply initializers and the compiler counts them to determine the size. Dynamic sizing is not possible this way.

Otherwise, yes.

How do I address a color from a tChanel? Is that the right way

Yes.

How do I pass the pointer?