Understanding the BlinkWithoutDelay Program

I am very new to programming and don't understand a lot of things yet. I am working on a project and I believe it will require the absense of delays since I want it to perform multiple tasks at the same time. However, I do not fully understand how the BlinkWithoutDelay example code works. Would someone please be willing to go through the program and explain in detail EXACTLY what each step is doing? Also what would happen if one of those steps was left out and how that would effect the program? I don't understand completely what long and unsigned long means, and what the difference between a const int and an int is, among other things in the program. I hope this isn't too much to ask for.

Thanks!

"unsigned long" vs. "long": An "unsigned long" cannot represent negative values. A "long" can.

"const int" vs. "int": A "variable" with the "const" qualifier cannot have its value changed at runtime.

If you miss out any of the steps it won't work as it is supposed to.

The blink without delay sketch has three key lines:

unsigned long currentMillis = millis();

if(currentMillis - previousMillis > interval) {

previousMillis = currentMillis;

Think about how you could do a similar task given a clock, an egg-timer, a sheet of paper and a pencil/eraser.

"delay" method: Turn on the light. Turn over the egg-timer. Wait until all the sand has run through. Flick the switch. Repeat.

"Blink without delay method": Turn on the light. Write down the time now. label: Look at the clock. Is the time now minus the time you wrote down greater than the blink time? YES: Flick the switch, and note the new time. Go off, put the kettle on, read a page of a book, get the teabags out, whatever. Repeat from "label".

"delay" is an example of a "busy wait"; the processor is continually looking at the clock to see if the required wait time has expired, and can't do other things.