Understanding the need for two resistors with a switch

I'm following a tutorial that accompanied a starter kit by a company called Freenove. In this tutorial, we're attempting to read the state of a momentary button on a given Arduino pin. I understand the notion of a pull-up or push-down resistor, but it's not clear to me why they are using two resistors in this circuit.

The explanation given is as follows, but, as a beginner, I don't understand what they mean:

In the above circuit diagram, when the button is not pressed, 5V (high level) will be detected by UNO port; and 0V (low level) when the button is pressed. The role of Resistor R2 here is to prevent the port from being set to output high level by accident, which could be connected directly to the cathode and cause a short circuit when the button is pressed.

Can anyone help me interpret this? Thank you.

Sure. Imagine a scenario where that resistor isn’t there. Thing work fine. And then one day by accident you type the wrong pin number somewhere and that pin accidentally gets set to OUTPUT and HIGH in your code. Nobody notices at first but then you press your button and now that HIGH pin is connected directly to ground, a short circuit. Current flows freely, way over the rating of the pin because nothing to resist the flow. You suddenly notice something is wrong when smoke starts boiling out of your Arduino.

I’ll admit I’ve never got that resistor there. But it’s a good safety measure.

Makes perfect sense. Thank you for the clarification!

One PCB designer has made an Arduino that protects the PCB from the user.

Each I/O pin has these components:

https://andrew-sterian.squarespace.com/10-ways-to-destroy-an-arduino

I often just add a 220R series resistor.

Thanks for this link -- very informative.

1. When the given R1-R2-S1 network is connected with DPin-2 (input mode), we have the following scenario (Fig-1).
IOPin2.png
Figure-1: