Understanding the outputs of analogWrite and Servo.write

Hello to all!

I am quite new to arduino and I am trying to understand some of the basics yet. The big issue I had in the past few days was about reading values from these two functions: analogWrite and Servo.write. I would like to write some words about my encounter with these functions and receive some feebacks about the conclusions.

Fist of all I am reading data from an Arduino UNO and from a kk2.1.5 board hacked into an Arduino (as done by Arduino on the KK2 Multicopter controller - RCHacker.com - Radio Control for Engineers, Hackers and the advanced Hobbyist).

I am using an USBasp cable to program and supply power to both Arduino and kk boards, as well as a breadboard and a cheap multimeter.
So lets go…

The first thing I wanted was read what values my kk board output with the analogWrite, so I did this code.

const byte outsignal = X; //change X to the different pin numbers
int i=0;

void setup() {
  pinMode(outsignal, OUTPUT);
}

void loop() {
  analogWrite(outsignal, i);
  delay(2000);
  i = i+20;
}

I know the maximum value for i will be 255, but I would like to test with higher number too to see what happens.

My result:

1. From pin 5 to pin 8, I read 0V in the multimeter until i is around 128, when it suddenly rised to 5V and stayed there forever;
  2. Pins 9 and 10 gave me 0V for all values of i;
  3. From pin 11 to pin 12, I read 0V in the multimeter until i is around 128, when it suddenly rised to 5V and stayed there forever.

After that, I implemented the same code in Arduino UNO and my results were:

1. In no PWM pins, I read 0V in the multimeter until i is around 128, when it suddenly rised to 5V and stayed there forever;
  2. In PWM pins (pins 3, 5, 6, 9, 10, 11), I read, as expected, an increasing in voltage, step by step, until i = 255, where I reached the maximum voltage (5V). For i higher than 255, the function started again from 0, reaching maximum voltage when i = 510, and so on.