Underwater laser camera trap

Hi Guys,

I am completely new to Arduino and need some help with a thought of feasibility of the project. I am interested to use Arduino Uno to build an underwater camera trap. The problem is that I cannot use the "tripwire" concept using a laser and a reflector or light sensor on the other side. The idea is that an animal "breaks" the laser beam and triggers the camera.

I have been searching on the internet now for some time and came across some (but very few) possibilities and I am know down to two serious options.

Any thoughts and more ideas are more than welcome! Thank you!

Why "laser" instead of plain light? What kind of distances are you interested in?

Lasers are needed to prevent a decrease of intensity of normal light as it is absorbed quickly underwater.

Guido167:
Lasers are needed to prevent a decrease of intensity of normal light as it is absorbed quickly underwater.

This is why I was asking about the distances involved. If you're hoping to trigger an event from a fish coming within, say a foot, of your sensor, you could expect to see a difference in the light being reflected from a plain LED. Alternatively, you could detect it's shadow without providing any light source of your own.

KenF:
This is why I was asking about the distances involved. If you're hoping to trigger an event from a fish coming within, say a foot, of your sensor, you could expect to see a difference in the light being reflected from a plain LED. Alternatively, you could detect it's shadow without providing any light source of your own.

Thank you Ken, sorry I did not reply on the favorable distance. The favorable distance is more in the range of 10 to 40 meters, but that is also hugely dependent on water turbidity.