underwater vehicle school project need guidance please

Hi arduino community,

I'm very new to electronics and electrical. I'm having a final year school project on autonomous underwater vehicle (AUV). i've done a little research and have seen similar post. but the details were scattered everywhere. Hereby requesting for assistance to any form of links to specific details i needed if any kind souls here are willing to help, greatly appreciated. This is a very small scale project compared to any commercial vehicles out there. my project is to build and design a mini AUV at low cost/budget, able to maneuver itself in terms of sway and yaw, and also surge. it has to go from point A to point B and back to point A. Im just screwed to a point i have no idea what components i need. ive purchased an arduino uno, and a wireless shield to communicate wireless to my laptop.

components needed: 3 servos ( 1 to control the top fin, other 2 to control the left and right fins) connected to the board? 1 gyroscope - (connect to? ) 1 gps - connected to uno board? 1 motor shield - connected to uno board? 1 motor with shaft connected to the propeller - input connected to output of the motor shield? Ballast system - unsure of the system. thought of using mini pump for suction and ballast out the water.

please correct me if im wrong? and also, can the uno board handle so many components? and i really appreciate if there's anything to be added as im rushed to purchase all the components and start figuring out the software. i have until april to complete this project. Please, wishing for some guidance! thank you in advance!

this is the basic layout. dont mind my poor drawing.

Does wireless work underwater?

Hi JimboZA, yes the wireless has to work underwater. to a depth of max 2-5m. the underwater has to have capabilities to control its depth (pitch/heaving) with the side fins, and the yaw with the top fins, surge by the motor at the back.