Unexpected result from loop

As you can tell I am very new to all this.

Basically as part of the learning process the SKETCH should

1. Create an hours minutes and seconds timer.

2. The sketch works just fine WITHOUT the LOOPS.

3. The loops are to turn on a LED at a specific time and then turn it off at a specific time.

3.Whatever I am doing wrong just lets the program run for 1 seconds then updates the "seconds " to increment by 30 each loop but naturally never turns on the LED because the LOOP condition is not met.

Any help appreciated.

Increment__seconds_and_PRINT.ino (925 Bytes)

Here is the code formatted better and in code tags. OP please note

int minutes = 0;
int seconds = 0;
int hours = 0;

void setup()                            //SETUP
{
  Serial.begin (9600);  // Open up Serial port at a Baud Rate of 9600
  pinMode (7, OUTPUT);
}
void loop()
{
  Serial.println(String("H....") + hours + ("M....") + minutes + String("S....") + seconds);
  seconds++;
  if (seconds > 10)                           // does not print if seconds is less than 10
  {
    Serial.println ("xxxxxxxxxx");
    seconds = 0;
    minutes++;
  }
  if (minutes > 4)                           // does not print if minutes is less than 4
  {
    Serial.println ("oooooooooo");
    minutes = 0;
    hours++;
  }
  if (hours > 4)                           // does not print if hours is less than 4
  {
    Serial.println ("xxxxxxxxxx");
    hours = 0;
  }
  if (minutes = 2)
  {
    digitalWrite (7, HIGH); // Turn LED on at 20 seconds
  }
  //if(minutes=3){ digitalWrite (7,LOW);}   // turn LED off at 30 seconds
  delay (1000);
}

The sketch works just fine WITHOUT the LOOPS.

Which loops are you referring to ?

if (minutes = 2)
  {
    digitalWrite (7, HIGH); // Turn LED on at 20 seconds
  }

Which is correct, the code that does not actually do a comparison or the comment ?

Sorry for the misuse of terminology.