University NASA Lunabotics Project

Hello,

My name is Yusif and I am an electrical engineering student at the Polytechnic Institute of NYU where I am on my schools NASA Lunabotics Team. The aim of the project is to create a autonomous or teleoperated excavator along specifications that mimic a lunar environment.

My part of the project is the controls interface and we have opted to use an Arduino/Wifly shield to communicate with the lunabot. I have a couple of sample codes that show how to connect the Wifly shield to a network but very little instruction on where to go from there. Can anyone recommend an example or a starting point for how to begin incorporating an analog joystick and it's corresponding readings to be received by the Wifly shield? I was initially planning on reading the joystick pins with a second Arduino, if someone could recommend how to achieve this I would be very grateful.

In advance I apologize if I am coming off vague or for any other shortcomings. This is my first post but I certainly hope it will not be the last.

Thanks in advance, Yusif Nurizade

Best place to start is allways on the tutorial section of arduino.cc to learn what the language can do (it can even more that is covered there)

An analog joystick can be covered by two analogRead()'s and IIRC the wifly shield comes with some samples. Start playing with them to understand the working .

Split the project into the components you need and try to understand every module (enough) before merging..

Succes, Rob

and we have opted to use an Arduino/Wifly shield to communicate with the lunabot. I have a couple of sample codes that show how to connect the Wifly shield to a network but very little instruction on where to go from there.

You say "the WiFly shield" like there is only one such device. Not true.

Support for WiFi on the Arduino depends on WHICH specific shield you are referring to. Better answers are provided for more specific questions.