University project, help needed

First time posting, nice to meet you all!

I'm Adrià, from Spain. I'm doing a degree on Computer Engineering. This year we have a subject in which we are required to build a robot using a programmable chip, some sensors and some actuators. The problem is: they haven't given us any specific robot. We're supposed to think of one ourselves, and we aren't receiving a lot of guidance.

After many iterations, we've settled on a specific idea and we've made a list of all the components we think are necessary, but we're very worried that there will be problems connecting everything and making it work, since we have no experience at all with Arduino or with building robots in general. Will we need something we've not thought of? Are the components we've chosen adequate? Many questions have arisen.

Our idea is the following:

We want to build a robot which moves on the ground. Movement will be accomplished by two wheels rotated by motors. An extra idler wheel will be added for stability. Rotation will be accomplished by moving only one of the two wheels. The robot will be able to be remotely controlled by a computer via WiFi. It'll receive instructions from the computer, which will be processed by the Arduino chip, and will carry out the appropriate actions. The robot will also have GPS to know its approximate position. This is so that we can send it coordinates from the computer and let it move towards that specific point. For that, we concluded we also need a magnetometer, to know the direction we're facing. Lastly, the robot needs to be able to avoid any obstacle it encounters when trying to move to a specific point, for that we've concluded a sonar is needed (to detect nearby objects). (Optionally, we might include a camera to have more possibilities in case we have some time left. We've included it on the component list for now, but if it gives us too many problems it can be left out)