Uno analog Joystick input serial output to Sabertooth

Hello everyone. I have a couple questions that hopefully someone can help steer me in the right direction on. I am new to Arduino and any type of programming in general but I have been told this “should” work.

I have a tank style steering ride on vehicle for my son with cerebral palsy that is currently RC controlled. Since building it i have wanted my son to have a little more independence and wanted it to have a joystick control but have the rc control as a backup in case he needed a little help along the way.

The vehicle has a Sabertooth 2x32 like i said it is currently RC controlled I spoke with Dimension Engineering and explained that I wanted a joystick input as well as RC (takeover) option. They informed me their software DeScribe can do user mode and they had a sample of code that does exactly this. The code uses Serial input from an Arduino and 3 channels of RC input. I have the 3 channels all ready to go and have uploaded test code for the Sabertooth onto my Uno to verify that the RC takeover works but that is where i am stuck.

I have a cheap analog joystick with x and y axis I am trying to figure out how i can output the analog input to serial output the sabertooth can read. I have used some sample joystick code and have seen a map function but do not know how to make this all work. Does anyone have any suggestions? Should i be basing my arduino code off of the sample Sabertooth code and copying the joystick code into it? I have searched and have been unable to find anyone doing the same thing (with working code). I had started working on the code below by using the tank style sweep sabertooth sketch and adding in the joystick code but i think i may be completely off base with it. When i upload the code and switch my RC controller to the Arduino channel i just get one motor spinning full speed.

// Tank-Style (Diff-Drive) Sweep Sample for USB Sabertooth Packet Serial