Uno and Nextion - Odd Behavior

I’m hopeful someone will take a look at my code for what is goofy, I’m a newbie to this language. I have a little experience with VBA so I get most concepts but Serial is new to me and I can not figure out my problem. My code works when the ide serial monitor is running, the nextion refreshes and all the data is accurate. However, with out the IDE monitor running the only two items that update on the nextion are my egt and cht values. Everything else is static. If I fire the IDE monitor the screen flashes and start acting as it should again.

Sorry in advance if my code is messy I’m still learning!

Thanks in advance…

DynoPanel.zip (569 KB)

Hello jwiedmayer,

Thanks for the code but what I meant when I replied to your PM was upload the Nextion HMI file in a zip file and post your code in the forum in code tags </>

Anyway.

Sorry in advance if my code is messy I’m still learning!

You are clearly not new to programming and you clearly have your own style, I would not call it messy, in some ways it’s quite neat (not that I’m the expert).

I’ve had a quick look through, the most obvious thing is you send the data to the Nextion every time round loop(). I have not read enough of your code to get a feel for how often that is, but as you obviously know better than to use delay() all over the place I suspect it’s way too often. There is no point in updating a display more than about 5 times per second as a human can’t read it that fast anyway. You should only send stuff to the display when something changes. Given that you obviously know how to write code I leave it to you to find ways to do this.

If you read my posts you will know I absolutely detest delay(), however, in this case I suggest a simple test; put delay(500); in loop(); to slow it down. If that fixes the problem then the problem is sending the data too fast.